Spring Palette Challenge: McCalls 6069

March 2, 2011 at 7:00 am 3 comments

I realized last Thursday that we were rounding out Week 6 of the Spring Palette Challenge….and to date I’d only completed one item! That was simply unacceptable. The “paperbag” skirt was causing some creativity blocks, so I figured that getting started on the next garment might help out a bit.

I started cutting out the pieces for the blue blouse when I realized I wanted something quick and easy with no muslin required. So, I pulled out McCalls 6069 instead!

Originally I had planned on going with the square neckline for this fabric, but after consulting my mom, and standing in front of the mirror for a while I changed my mind and went with the draped neckline. It’d be a bit “fancier” than what I originally wanted, but I thought it’d work better with the print. I didn’t really make any “changes”….I omitted the optional back tie/strap (I thought it might make it look too “mature” for me…kinda like the green top), and I didn’t put in pockets.  I also tacked down the facings with a tiny stitch, which surprisingly the instructions don’t call for. (Maybe they do that for a reason…)

This was my second project using knits, and while I still think they’re a pain in the butt to cut out, I actually liked sewing with it once again.  (Except for the armholes….but I think that’s one part inexperience, and one part impatience.) I cut out a 14 for the top and a 16 on the bottom….I didn’t want it to fit tightly anywhere. I love that it’s super comfortable, and it’ll be so easy to dress it up or down, depending on my mood. Although if I try to wear it casually, inevitably everyone will ask “why are you so dressed up?” This happens even with my most casual dresses. But moving on…

What do you think?
M6069 Collage
My favorite part is most definitely the back. I love the low drape! And I’m glad I omitted that strap….although if the shoulder straps slip I’m in big trouble. I’m thinking of adding “bra strap carriers” to wear with a sturdy bra. Seriously.

Also, chances are that I won’t wear it without the belt. While I could wear it without the belt, I like the waist definition. Plus it hides the stitching that is visible around the waist, which brings me to my only disappointments about this dress. It’s the visible stitching! I’m not sure that a different thread color would’ve made things better, but I almost wish I hadn’t treated this dress like a “1-hour dress” (which the pattern envelope claims it is) so that I could’ve done the hem by hand. Same goes for the armholes (which, I should probably mention would probably make my picky mother faint. Let me just say I’m glad it’s a stretchy fabric and most of my mistakes won’t be visible to the untrained eye. I think.) Are you noticing a pattern in my sewing? I’m kind of impatient….but I’m working on that!

So that’s that!

2 garments down, 3 to go. Yikes! Now, back to working on that skirt…

Entry filed under: 2011 Spring Palette Challenge, Finished Projects, Sew-Alongs. Tags: .

Show and Tell Tuesday (Pattern Edition) Show-and-Tell Tuesday: What’s Next?

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Trisha  |  March 10, 2011 at 2:32 pm

    Ooh, I am in love with this dress! The fabric is so pretty and the dress looks great on you.

    Reply
  • 3. Kathy Marrone  |  March 10, 2011 at 4:37 pm

    Just wanted to let you know we like your version of M6069 we posted a link from our McCall’s Patterns facebook page to your blog. Great Job!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

Spring Palette Challenge

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Archives


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

