Show-and-Tell Tuesday: What’s Next?

March 8, 2011 at 7:00 am 2 comments

Now that I’m halfway done with my Spring Palette Challenge garments (ha! The two most complex garments still remain…) I’ve inevitably started thinking about what’s next in my sewing! It’s quite exciting, but I think having so many possibilities could easily paralyze me. So, I thought I’d show and tell you all what’s running through my mind and maybe you can point me in a good direction?

The first project that comes to mind is what I call the “Pink Stripe Dress”. I’ve had this fabric for a while and only recently decided on using Simplicity¬† 2308 for it.

Pink Stripe Dress

I had trouble finding the right pattern since I wanted something simple that wouldn’t cut up the stripes with design lines. I think this will work out well, although I think it’d be best if I buy a solid silky print for the neckline, since the “stripes” might look a bit funny on that piece. We’ll see once I get a better look at the pattern pieces and layout.

Another pattern in my stash I’ve been wanting to make (although I’m not sure why since I really don’t think I have many places to wear it) is the “Cutout dress”, or McCalls 6281. I have this lovely grey Ponte de Roma knit from JoAnn’s, and I finally found an exposed zipper (black, with silver teeth) in the right length. Has anyone made this yet? Should I make it in a different color?

Ponte Dress

Another strong possibility is Simplicity 2443, in a purple poly/spandex knit I’ve had in my stash for this very purpose. And it’d be great timing too, since the summer is quickly approaching (plus, it’s always pretty warm here in Florida).

Sadly, I also have a bunch of other fabrics and patterns in my stash that I could choose from. But help me out….what would you start with?

Any new projects you’re excited about tackling?

Oh, and since I know you’re curious, I have already cut out the muslins for my final two Spring Palette garments!! I should be done with fitting soon, and cutting into the fashion fabrics before the week is over!

Entry filed under: Show-And-Tell Tuesdays. Tags: .

Spring Palette Challenge: McCalls 6069 Show-and-Tell Tuesday: Back to Business!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ruth  |  March 19, 2011 at 11:13 am

    I love the cynthia rowley pattern, it is very cute and very versatile.

    Reply
  • 2. sabrinaClementine  |  March 19, 2011 at 1:08 pm

    I agree Ruth! I actually saw a dress worn by a local TV personality just yesterday that was a lot like it….it was black, but the neck and waistbands were white. It looked SO elegant! I’m totally making a second version with contrast bands after I finish this purple one!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers

Spring Palette Challenge

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Archives


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

